ISTD Student Awards 2015

The International Society of Typographic Design (ISTD) is a professional body run by and for typographers, graphic designers and educators. Membership is awarded to students who demonstrate, through the quality of their work, their commitment to achieving the highest possible quality of typogrpahy within visual communication.

In March 2015, the Irish assessment was held at Dublin Institute of Technology’s new Grangegorman campus. Building on previous year’s success, Claire Healy, Jason Hunter, Amy McMahon, Amy O’Donnell, Theresa Phelan and Anna Sidorova were all successful at the assessment and went on collect their awards at a presentation on the 3rd of July at the London studios of international design agency Pentagram.

This is what Jason had this to say about the awards:

“After a quick meet and greet with the head of the ISTD Education, John Paul Dowling, we were given an opportunity to watch a slideshow of all the successful entrants’ work. John Paul then gave a brief talk about the ISTD and what it means to be a member. Followed by Pentagram partner, Angus Hyland, who praised for the standard of work and quoted Erik Spiekermann who said, ‘It is the most rigorous and honest assessment in the world. No personal likes/dislikes can affect the outcomes’. The awards were then handed out and we all received a goody bag full of typographic books.

We were then invited to enjoy the free food and drink, and to have a look around the Pentagram’s amazing studio. Overall, the ISTD awards was a once in a lifetime opportunity to see inside a top level design studio and to rub shoulders with some of the best up and coming designers in the UK and Ireland. Hopefully this award will open up more opportunities for us in the future.”

for more information


awarded students


share this project

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.
Required fields are marked:*


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>